top of page

Interview With an Alumni: Abby Swatts

In the following interview Abby Swatts, an Editing, Writing, an Media alumna, shares a plethora of her experiences with us. During her time as an undergraduate student Abby interned with the DeVoe L. Moore Center, and the valuable skills she learned there helped prepare her for the post-grad opportunities she has had. Currently, she is completing her master's degree in technical English at UCF, and she hopes to achieve a PhD afterwards.


  • When did you graduate?

    • May 2019


  • Who was your undergraduate internship with?

    • DeVoe L. Moore Center @ FSU


  • What objectives or expectations did you have going into that internship?

    • To see how writing and editing fit into a different discipline on campus that implemented the skills and concepts I was learning in my own program.


  • What was your internship experience like?

    • My experience was great! The Director, Dr. Sam Staley, trained me over the summer with a backlog of content that prepared me to eventually become the Editorial Manager for the Center. I learned from the previous manager and I was able to read material about public policy and the specific editing process they used. They had me write my own op-ed to give me a glimpse of the process from the bottom up, and eventually I got to implement my own ideas and work with interns and lead workshops.


  • What has your after graduation experience been like?

    • I have found jobs much more easily than I expected to with an English degree. I work at the Florida Capitol as a Journal Writer and Editor and I get to use a lot of the concepts I learned in undergrad daily.


  • Did you feel prepared after graduation?

    • I don't know that I FELT prepared, but I was prepared. Now that I have worked for almost two years, I am more confident in the education and experience I gained at FSU.


  • Were there any challenges you faced after graduation?

    • I have not faced many challenges since graduating, but I still feel called to return to school and continue learning. And I don't know that that will ever go away.


  • What are your current plans as you look into the future?

    • My current plans include finishing grad school (currently starting my second year at UCF for English: Technical Communication) and hopefully completing my thesis and continuing on to get my PhD.


  • Finally, what advice do you have for current students?

    • The advice I would give current students is to get to know your professors. I never would have gotten the internship and eventual job at the DeVoe L. Moore Center if I had not taken an economics class with Dr. Staley and gone to his office several times to help bridge the gap between my preferred discipline and my minor. He recognized my skills in writing and editing and brought me on to the amazing experience I had. They are such valuable people to have access to in your life and career and they are typically so eager and kind when you reach out.

42 views0 comments
bottom of page