top of page

Rebecca McCandless Interview

This week the Editing Interns got to talk with alumni Rebecca McCandless about her experience with the EWM program and the internship she had with Professor Jack Clifford.

In late July, the Editing Interns got to talk with alumni Rebecca McCandless about her experience with the EWM program and the internship she had with Professor Jack Clifford. Rebecca McCandless majored in Creative Writing and minored in Communications. According to Rebecca, “the journalism bug first bit me when I started writing for FSU’s Her Campus chapter during the spring semester of my freshman year.” This is where she learned the basics of journalistic writing. In the summer of 2019, she got the opportunity to study abroad in Valencia, Spain, for the Editing, Writing, and Media program. Through this program, she was able to write an article about a local street artist, David de Limón, which you can find published in the Nomadic Noles magazine. It was in Valencia that she first worked with Professor Jack Clifford.

Intern: Who was your internship with?

McCandless: I interned under Jack Clifford for the FSU English Department.

Intern: How did you find the opportunity?

McCandless: Jack was one of my professors during my study abroad trip to Valencia, Spain, for the EWM program in the summer of 2019. In the following fall semester, he extended the offer to be a part of his spring 2020 intern team.

Intern: Was it in person or online?

McCandless: It was in person until classes transitioned online due to COVID-19.

Intern: What was your internship experience like?

McCandless: I was able to strengthen my writing and journalism skills through the internship with the English department. I was also able to broaden my skills by creating content for the department’s Instagram. I had wonderful experiences such as interviewing professor Diane Roberts for an article on the Jerome Stern Distinguished Writers Series and attending the Master’s in Four competition to create an Instagram post on the first runner up, Keri Miller. We also had weekly newsroom styled meetings where we would present updates on our in-progress projects. These meetings provided a perfect environment for peer and supervisor feedback.

Intern: What objectives or expectations did you have going into the internship?

McCandless: I was excited to be able to get more of my work published. While I had experience writing for Her Campus, I expected to be able to practice more professional / news-style writing which this internship provided for me.

Intern: Did you feel prepared going into your internship?

McCandless: As a creative writing major, I’m still fairly new to the journalistic style. However, the background I had from being a writer for FSU’s Her Campus chapter and the work I did in Valencia were wonderful experiences to have under my belt as they prepared me to write articles for the English department.

Intern: What kind of work do you do at your internship?

McCandless: I wrote articles that are now featured on the English department website. To create these articles, I conducted research and scheduled interviews with students, professors, and alumni. I wrote articles about anything from English majors involved in campus comedy organizations to a profile on alumna Kim MacQueen. By the end of the semester, I crafted an E-Portfolio featuring the articles I wrote for the internship. It was such a great feeling to see my accomplishments in one place.

Intern: What was one thing you learned from your experience, especially moving into the future?

McCandless: This experience truly helped me realize that journalism is something I am extremely passionate about. It validated my career path.

Intern: What were some challenges you faced during your internship?

McCandless: Before I got bit by the journalism bug, I was a very reserved and shy person. Conducting in-person interviews was something I struggled with because of this. As I began to interview more people, however, I began to grow better accustomed to and more comfortable with the process!

Intern: Do you have any plans after graduation?

McCandless: As of right now, I don’t have any plans that are set in stone. I obviously would love to work as a freelance writer or a journalist for a newspaper. Another dream of mine is to eventually teach English abroad, as I am getting TESOL certified. This might be difficult to do anytime soon because of COVID-19.

Intern: How has the EWM program prepared you for your future?

McCandless: I now know what types of careers I wish to pursue – this opportunity has opened my eyes to the various opportunities that this field has to offer! I feel more prepared professionally, as I have become more comfortable with conducting interviews and have familiarized myself with the journalistic style of writing. The E-Portfolio I created at the end of the semester allows me to feel like I have something worthwhile that wonderfully represents my work to present to future employers.

Intern: What advice do you have for students looking for internships?

McCandless: Build connections with your professors! They are here to help you get the most out of your college experience and will most likely have an idea of some internships you can apply for that fit your needs.

Intern: What advice do you have for incoming EWM students?

McCandless: Don’t be afraid to pursue things outside of your comfort zone! If I had not studied abroad with the EWM program, I would not have had the opportunity to be an intern with the English department.


https://beccamccan.wixsite.com/eportfolio

10 views0 comments
bottom of page