top of page

Senior Spotlight: Taylor Robinson



For this Senior Spotlight article, we checked in with Creative Writing major Taylor Robinson, and she offered to guest write a piece describing her experience at FSU. Read on to learn about her journey and her advice for current students.


"Growing up, I’ve always loved reading and my English classes throughout school. With a strong desire for storytelling and creativity, I became a Creative Writing major. In high school, I enjoyed writing papers and creating films and stories, so Creative Writing felt like a natural fit for me. Currently, as I wait to hear back from MFA programs, I run the social media for Hummingbird Wine Bar in Midtown, Tallahassee.


My favorite course is one I am taking right now with Dr. Elizabeth Stuckey-French. This fiction workshop has completely enhanced my voice as a writer and broadened my style of work. The English department also has a lot of other amazing professors, including Dr. Dorsey Olbrich, Dr. Frances Tran, Dr. David Kirby, and Dr. David Johnson, who all taught me vastly different things and individually helped to shape my writing.


For both new students and those graduating soon, I recommend working through school and taking advantage of career-focused resources on campus. Applying to jobs has greatly eased the graduate school application process. Additionally, my time management and energy levels are much better now. It gets easier the final year, but it is so important to think about work after school and what your undergraduate opportunities can do for you now and in the future. Staying focused on an end goal as well as being diligent with your résumé, experience, and published work are necessary for success in the post-undergraduate world. I wish I had been more focused and decisive on my career-related work during sophomore and junior year like I am now. Do all the things!


For new students specifically, take a course you never thought you would take. Why not? Do something to refresh your mind and creativity outside of your current path in school. The things you learn in an astronomy course, or a religious ethics course, will somehow apply to your writing and research. Think in different ways by reaching outside of your comfort zone. Trust the process. Asian-American literature and Middle-English literature were things I never would have read, and now I love Julie Otsuka and Thomas Malory!


I also wish I had spoken to professors earlier. I was always so intimidated and as graduation approached, I realized how helpful and supportive they are with honesty and genuine conversation. Some of my best times on campus were during office hours or staying after to help clarify something in a reading or an assignment. I recommend students do this more, especially if they are unsure of what to do post-graduation. The Career Center is also helpful and provides a lot of good materials for understanding more about yourself, looking at what you’re best at, and helping you focus on what you can visualize yourself doing.


FSU taught me self-discipline and independence. The faculty truly cared and provided resources and readings that expanded my knowledge as well as my understanding of myself and how I think. I now want to continue my education and keep learning about myself. I’m grateful to Florida State for providing me with these opportunities and helping me find a great community in Tallahassee centered around the arts and professional fields."




20 views0 comments
bottom of page